Home Comoros BI announces travel ban to 9 other countries – Manila bulletin

BI announces travel ban to 9 other countries – Manila bulletin


The Immigration Office (BI) announced the implementation of the temporary travel ban for passengers from nine countries from Sunday, September 12.

These are Azerbaijan, Guadeloupe, Guam, Israel, Kosovo, Montenegro, North Macedonia, Saint Lucia and Switzerland.

BI Commissioner Jaime Morente said that, based on Malacañang’s instructions, as recommended by the Interagency Working Group for the Management of Emerging Infectious Diseases (IATF), passengers arriving or arriving from said countries who have traveled within the 14 days prior to their arrival in the Philippines are not permitted to enter.

The BI chief, however, said passengers already in transit from the said countries, who will arrive before the travel ban is implemented, will be allowed entry but subject to existing policies of the Quarantine Office (BOQ). .

BI chief of port operations Carlos Capulong said Filipinos arriving from the same countries on the government’s repatriation program, or bayanihan flights, may be allowed entry but must undergo a strict 14-day quarantine based on facilities and be required to have a reverse transcription polymerase chain reaction (RT -PCR) controlled by the BOQ.

Capulong said those who made a simple stopover in the nine countries are not covered by the travel ban.

The travel ban came into effect on September 12 at midnight until September 18 at 11:59 p.m. 2021

Meanwhile, Capulong has released the names of countries in the low risk category (green list) that do not qualify for automatic entry based on a resolution issued by the IATF.

He said they would still be subject to a seven-day quarantine and would eventually be released once they test negative on the swab test.

These are American Samoa, Anguilla, Australia, Benin, Burkina Faso, Cameroon, Cayman Islands, Chad, China, Comoros, Republic of Congo, Djibouti, Equatorial Guinea, Falkland Islands (Malvinas), Gabon, Grenada, Hong Kong Region of China), Hungary, Mali, Federated States of Micronesia, Montserrat, New Caledonia, New Zealand, Niger, Northern Mariana Islands , Palau, Poland, Saba, Saint-Pierre-et-Miquelon, Sierra Leone, Saint-Eustache, Slovakia and Taiwan.

“General travel restrictions are still in effect. Only Filipinos, Balikbayans and foreigners with valid and existing visas are allowed to enter the Philippines, ”Capulong said, adding that“ those who hold tourist visas remain banned from entering ”.



Source link